John Lennon’s Best Album: A Celebration of Life and Music!

As a member of the Beatles together with Paul McCartney, Ringo Starr, and George Harrison, John Lennon first gained widespread recognition and popularity.

Despite this, Lennon went on to have a successful solo career and also released music with his wife, Yoko Ono, after the Beatles broke up.

John Lennon released a total of 11 studio albums, 15 compilation albums, 14 video albums, three live albums, five box sets, 63 music videos, and 23 singles throughout his career, both as a solo artist and in collaboration with Yoko Ono. This article provides a ranking of all 11 of John Lennon’s studio albums.

1. John Lennon/ Plastic Ono Band (1970)

John Lennon/ Plastic Ono Band‘ wasn’t Lennon’s most commercially successful album, but Rate Your Music considers it one of the greatest, and many admirers and music critics concur. The couple’s fourth record together, “John Lennon/Plastic Ono Band,” was their first to find commercial success.

It reached the top of the charts in the Netherlands and reached the top ten in the US, the UK, Australia, and Canada. Norway, Germany, Italy, and Japan.

In an odd move, Yoko Ono issued her version of this record under the name “Yoko Ono/ Plastic Ono Band.” The couple’s experiences receiving primal treatment together had an impact on them.

2. Imagine (1971)

Imagine was John Lennon’s first solo album, and it is generally agreed upon that it is his finest body of solo work. Additionally, it was the album that did the best for him commercially.

The album reached number one on the charts in several countries including the United States of America, the United Kingdom, Australia, Italy, Japan, the Netherlands, and Norway. It also reached number one in the top ten in Canada, Germany, and France.

The only single taken from the album to be issued was ‘Imagine,’ which featured ‘It’s So Hard’ on the flip side of the record. On more than half of the tracks on this album, Lennon’s former bandmate George Harrison appears as a guest musician.

3. Double Fantasy (1980)

The album titled “Double Fantasy” was the penultimate album issued by John Lennon and the last record released before his passing. After they had reconciled and rekindled their love for one another, he and Yoko Ono decided to work together to create an album and distribute it.

It reached number one on the charts in the United States, as well as the United Kingdom, Canada, and Norway. “(Just Like) Starting Over,” “Woman,” and “Watching the Wheels” are the three singles that were taken from this album and released individually.

4. Milk & Honey (1984)

Yoko Ono and John Lennon started working on the song “Milk and Honey” at the same time that they were working on the song “Double Fantasy.” The album was scheduled for release in December of 1980.

However, due to the terrible assassination of John Lennon in December of that year, the publication of the record was delayed. In 1984, after his passing, it was finally made available to the public. ‘Nobody Told Me,’ ‘Borrowed Time,’ and ‘I’m Stepping Out’ are the three singles that were taken from the album and released individually.

Milk & Honey debuted in the top ten on the album charts in several countries, including the United Kingdom, Australia, Norway, the Netherlands, and Japan. However, its highest position on the Billboard 200 chart was number 11.

5. Walls and Bridges (1974)

In addition to topping the charts in the US and Canada, “Walls and Bridges” also reached the top ten in the UK, Norway, and Australia. The songs on this album were written and recorded by Lennon during a turbulent time in his life.

During the time of his split from Yoko Ono, he started dating her assistant with her approval. In addition, he was attempting to rebuild his relationship with his little son Julian, who he hadn’t seen in four.

Whatever Gets You Through the Night and #9 Dream were the two singles from this album that were made public.

6. Rock ā€˜nā€™ Roll (1975)

In 1975, ‘Rock ‘n’ Roll‘ was released, and it quickly became a top 10 smash on the album charts of the United States of America, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, Canada, France, and Norway. Due to various issues that arose during the recording process, the album was delayed by a whole year.

“Stand by Me” and “Ya Ya” were the two singles that were taken from this album and published. Together with Phil Spector, Lennon was the album’s co-producer.

7. Some Time in New York City (1972)

It was Lennon’s sixth studio album, and it was the fifth studio album that he made with Yoko Ono. The album was titled “Some Time in New York City.” The album was a top 10 smash in Italy, where it reached number two on the album charts, and it was most successful in Norway, where it reached number two on the album charts.

Only number 48 was its highest position in the United States. The CD had several songs that dealt with political topics in some way.

After moving to New York City, John Lennon, and Yoko Ono began to get active in the causes of the counterculture era, such as the fight against the oppression of women, at the time that they were recording the album.

8. Mind Games (1973)

The year 1973 saw the release of ‘Mind Games,’ the sixth studio album to come from John Lennon. Although Lennon was assisted by Phil Spector in the production of the album, it was the first time that Lennon had independently produced an album.

Many of the songs on this album, much like those on his previous record titled “Some Time in New York City,” dealt with political topics.

During the time that the recording was being done, John Lennon was having problems with his immigration status, and he had just started an 18-month split from Yoko Ono. It reached number one on the album chart in Norway, as well as in the United States and the Netherlands.

9. Unfinished Music No. 1: Two Virgins (1968)

John Lennon’s first solo album following his departure from the Beatles was titled “Unfinished Music No. 1: Two Virgins,” and the second half of the album pair was issued the next year.

The album was recorded by Lennon together with his wife, and it was the outcome of a night spent experimenting with music at his home studio of Lennon.

In addition to the music that was contained on the album, it became famous for the front cover, which portrayed Lennon and Ono without any clothing on.

10. Unfinished Music No. 2: Life with the Lions (1969)

The second album that Ono and Lennon released together was titled “Unfinished Music No. 2: Life with the Lions,” and it peaked at position 174 on the Billboard 200 chart. The recording of the album was split into two parts for ease of listening.

The Queen Charlotte’s Hospital in London was the location of the recording sessions for half of the CD, while live performances were captured at Cambridge University for the other half.

The music on the album was influenced by Fluxus art, which is a movement in the arts that brings together artists from a variety of professions that value the creative process more than the result.

11. Wedding Album (1969)

Unofficially, ‘Wedding Album’ is the second album John Lennon and Yoko Ono released in 1969 and the third of a trio of experimental albums the two of them collaborated on. It failed to chart internationally and only made it as high as 178 on the Billboard 200.

The couple can be heard shouting each other’s names at varying speeds, loudness, and intensities on the album’s opening side, “John & Yoko.” Their hearts are thumping in the background. ‘Amsterdam,’ the title of the album’s second side, was recorded prior to the first side.

The music was created by Lennon and Ono in a suite at the Hilton Amsterdam. During their infamous honeymoon “Bed-In,” they were caught talking and being interviewed about their crusade for peace.

Leave a Comment